Gov Dapo Abiodun Tourney: 3SC To Face Kwara Utd, MFM Tackle Lobi On Matchday 2 As Goals Rain In Opening Day Fixtures

Gov Dapo Abiodun Tourney: 3SC To Face Kwara Utd, MFM Tackle Lobi On Matchday 2 As Goals Rain In Opening Day Fixtures

NNL Play-off: 3SC To Face Akwa Starlets In Battle For Promotion
AITEO Cup: 3SC Draw Osun United Again In South West Derby
African Champion Now Bedridden: The Story Of Ex-3SC Star Who Needs Your Help To Walk Again

Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) of Ibadan will lock horns with Kwara United while Lagos side MFM trade tackles with Lobi Stars of Makurdi on Matchday 2 of the Governor Dapo Abiodun pre-season tournament holding at the Otunba Dipo Dina Stadium in Ijebu Ode, Ogun state.

In the other game in group B, it is a South West derby between Gateway of Abeokuta and Crown of Ogbomoso.

Group A will witness a battle between Kano Pillars and amateur side Collins Edwin in a match which victory would see Pillars progressing to the next round of the tournament.

Delta Force, which drew bye on Matchday one, will have their first taste of action when they face Warri Wolves while Remo Stars will confront Insurance in the other Group C game.

A total number of 19 goals were scored on the opening day of the tournament on Wednesday with the game between Lobi and Collins Edwin producing six goals as the Premier League side ran out 4-2 winners.

*Warri Wolves

Insurance of Benin, who will be campaigning in the NNL this season shocked Rivers United 3-1 in a match that did not respect league status.

3SC played out an exciting 2-2 draw against Gateway United which was the same scoreline in the other group B game between Crown and Kwara United.

Kano Pillars edged MFM 1-0 while Warri Wolves and Remo Stars battled to a goalless draw.

Tournament Director Oye Bawala expressed satisfaction with the arrangements for the tournament which was put together to formally welcome Prince Dapo Abiodun as governor of the state.

Bawala also admitted that he’s been very impressed with the standard of play by all the participating teams, particularly the NNL teams who are giving the Premier League teams a good run for their money.

“All the teams have done well but the better performances had been from the NNL teams. They have very good teams in the NNL, very fantastic teams. We hope to see more of everybody as the tournament progresses but so far so good,” he said.

A total of 13 teams, divided into three groups, are participating in the tournament.


Group A: 3SC v Kwara United; Gateway v Crown FC

Group B: Lobi Stars v MFM; Kano Pillars v Collins Edwin

Group C: Warri Wolves v Delta Force; Remo Stars v Insurance


Group A: Lobi Stars 4-2 Collins Edwin; Kano Pillars 1-0 MFM

Group B: 3SC 2-2 Gateway FC; Kwara United 2-2 Crown FC

Group C: Insurance 3-1 Rivers United; Warri Wolves 0-0 Remo